skip to primary navigation skip to content


You are not currently logged in

Museum Shop

Go to:

See how to order when you have decided what you wish to purchase.

There are 2 Stamps and Collectibles available:

British Antarctic Territory Commemorative Coin

British Antarctic Territory Commemorative Coin

The Polar Museum Shop has expanded its range of uncirculated cupro-nickel £2 coins produced by Pobjoy Mint Ltd. Each is 38.6 mm in diameter with an image of Queen Elizabeth II on the obverse, and is mounted on an informative presentation card. A coin makes a beautiful gift for a special birthday, or perhaps to mark a birth or anniversary.

We have the following in stock including two new coins for 2016:

Emperor Penguin - 2016

165th Anniversary of Moby Dick: the Sperm Whale - 2016

Hourglass Dolphin – 2015

Centenary of Shackleton’s Imperial Trans-Antarctic Expedition - 2015

100th anniversary of the start of the Trans-Antarctic Expedition

Centenary Expedition - 2014

The Orca Whale - 2014

Halley Research Station - 2013

Emperor Penguin Chicks - 2013

Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee - 2013

Centenary of Granting of Letters: world’s first Antarctic coin – 2008.

Price: 16.50

Availability: In stock



This £2 commemorative coin was issued by the Government of South Gerorgia and the South Sandwich Islands to celebrate the Centenary of Grytviken's founding in 1904 and the beginning of permanent settlement in South Georgia. The coins made from cupro-nickel were issued by the Pobjoy Mint Ltd. The reverse shows the sailing ship Louise in front of Gryviken, with an image of Carl Anton Larsen in the background.

Price: 9.95

Availability: In stock