skip to primary navigation skip to content

AHRC Technologies of Travel Workshop: Programme

AHRC Technologies of Travel Workshop: Programme

Convenors: Dr. Michael Bravo and Mrs. Heather Lane

September 5, 2007

10:00-10:30 Registration and Coffee
10:30-10:40 Welcome & Opening Remarks
Chair: Professor Liz Morris (SPRI)
Mrs Heather Lane, Keeper of Collections, SPRI Museum
10:40-10:45 Notices for Participants

Session 1: Why 'Technologies of Travel'?

Chair: Dr. Nancy Wachowich (Aberdeen University)

10:45-11:30 Dr. Michael Bravo (SPRI), 'Opening the Black Box: the Challenge of Seasonality for Curating the History of Technologies of Travel'
11:30-11:45 Discussant: Janet Owen (National Maritime Museum)
11:45-12:30 General Discussion
12:45-1:30: Lunch

Session 2: The Materiality of Technologies of Travel (I)

Chair: Dr Robin Boast (Cambridge Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology)

1:30-2:00 Mr. Peter Loovers (Aberdeen University), 'The Woodchip and Mackenzie:a Multivocal Approach towards Travelling in the Arctic'
2:00-2:30 Ms. Vanda Broughton (SOAS), 'Facet Analysis and Museum Objects'
2:30-3:00 General Discussion
3:00-3:30: Tea

Session 3: The Materiality of Technologies of Travel (II)

Chair: Prof. David Turnbull

3:30-4:00 Dr. Nancy Wachowich 'Video-art and Renewing Spaces of Travel'
4:00-4:30 Dr. Christopher Ries (Roskilde), 'Airplanes, Sledges, and Credibility in Greenland'
5:00-5:15 General Discussion

5:30 - 6:30 Drinks reception

7:30 Dinner at Downing College

September 6, 2007

Keynote Address followed by Questions: David Turnbull (Melbourne University, Australia)

9:15-10:15 Professor David Turnbull (Melbourne University, Australia), 'Technologies of Travel and Assemblages of Knowledge'
10:15 Coffee

Session 4: Museum Installations, Small Group Work

10:45-12:15 The aim of the small group work is to situate discussions about technologies of travel within three curatorial spaces: Participants will be assigned to one of three groups of about 10-12 people: Groups will then rotate between museum installations, spending 45 minutes at each: This will enable each group to work with 2 of the 3 installations: Conversations will be generated with the help of a curator/leader: Each group will elect a rapporteur for the plenary discussion: Previous experience with this methodology shows that each group brings with it different ideas and questions that produce unique conversations, so there need be no fear of repetition:

Facilitators: Dr. Nancy Wachowich, Professor David Turnbull

Group 1: Mrs. Heather Lane (SPRI) and Ms. Amber Lincoln (University of Aberdeen), The Seasonality of Technologies of Travel in Scott Polar Research Institute Collections.

Group 2: Ms. Imogen Gunn, Mr. Carl Hogsden (Cambridge Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology), Museums and Communities: The 1934 Wordie Expedition.

Group 3: Ms. Lynn Peplinski (Inuit Heritage Trust), Reconciling Place names in Canada's North.

12:15-1:00 Plenary Session

Chair: Professor David Turnbull

Format: 6 Rapporteurs will have 5 minutes each, followed by 15 minutes of discussion: Rapporteurs will be asked to write up their notes.

1:00- 2:00 Lunch

Session 5: Panel - Dialogues between Source Communities, Museums and their Audiences

Chair: Prof: Felix Driver (Royal Holloway)
2:00-2:20 Ms. Ericka Chemko (Nunavut Heritage): 'Building Institutions of Heritage and Social Memory: a View from Nunavut'
2:20-2:40 Dr. Genevieve LeMoine, 'Curating Historic Technologies at the Peary-MacMillan Arctic Museum'
2:40-3:00 Ms. Claire Warrior (National Maritime Museum): 'The Meaning of Admiralty Photographs amongst Inuit'
3:00-4:00 Questions and General Discussion with the Panel
3:45-4:15 Concluding thoughts: Dr. Henrietta Lidchi, Prof. David Turnbull, Dr. Nancy Wachowich