skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2012: Expedition Support: Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

Expedition Support: Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

The Fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, provides grants towards expeditions that meet its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions. The Committee of Managers of the Fund would like to thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for their generous contribution of £9,000. The members of the Committee who served during the year were Mr. D. Fordham (Chair), Dr. P. Adams, Dr. I. Campbell, Mr. R. Crabtree, Dr. L. Craig, Professor J.A. Dowdeswell, Dr. D. Goodman, Dr. M. Humphreys, Professor M. Lea, Mr. J. Muston, Professor R.C. Schroter and Dr. M. Tinsley.

The Committee made the following awards for 2012, from the Gino Watkins Fund and the Arctic Club:

Expedition Award
John Lyon School - Greenland Expedition £800
NW Greenland Climb 2012 £1,250
Timmiarmiut, East Greeland 2012 £2,000
Arctic 2012 – Tilman Again £1,750
Trans Antarctic Winter Traverse £1,750
Greenland Expedition 2012 - Eton College £1,300
West Lancashire Scouts - East Greenland 2012 £2,000
Greenlandic Over-Winter Expedition 2012 £1,250
Alaska 2012 Expedition - Imperial College £2,000