skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2011: Institute Staff

Institute Staff

Senior Academic and Related Staff

Professor Julian Dowdeswell Director and Professor of Physical Geography
Dr Neil Arnold University Senior Lecturer
Dr Paul Berkman Senior Research Associate (to June)
Dr Michael Bravo University Senior Lecturer
Dr Poul Christoffersen University Lecturer
Mrs Heather Lane Librarian and Keeper of Collections
Professor Elizabeth Morris, OBE Senior Research Associate
Dr Gareth Rees University Senior Lecturer
Dr Ian Stone Editor, Polar Record
Dr Piers Vitebsky Assistant Director of Research
Dr Ian Willis University Senior Lecturer

Research Staff

Mr Toby Benham Research Associate
Dr Marion Bougamont Research Associate
Mrs Evelyn Dowdeswell Research Associate
Dr Janne Flora Research Associate
Dr Marga Garcia Research Fellow
Dr Kelly Hogan Research Associate
Dr Stephen Pax Leonard Research Fellow
Dr Shane McCorristine Research Fellow
Dr Ruth Mugford Research Associate
Dr Stephen Palmer Research Associate
Dr Olga Ulturgasheva Research Fellow

Library, Archive and Museum Staff

Ms Katherine Antoniw Education and Outreach Officer (to February)
Ms Naomi Boneham Archives Manager
Ms Fiona Cahill Conservator (to September)
Mrs Georgina Cronin Library Assistant
Mr Bryan Lintott Exhibitions Officer
Ms Lucy Martin Picture Library Manager
Ms Shirley Sawtell Information Assistant
Ms Hilary Shibata Antarctic Bibliographer
Ms Willow Silvani Documentation Assistant
Ms Kay Smith Museum Project Manager
Ms Rebecca Stancombe Library Assistant
Mrs Isabella Warren Russian Bibliographer
Ms Sophie Weeks Education and Outreach Officer (from May)
Mr Jeremy Wong Arctic Bibliographer

Support Staff

Mr Grahame Adley Maintenance (from February)
Ms Rosie Amos Saturday Museum Assistant
Mrs Danielle Feger Administrator
Mrs Kate Gilbert Director’s Assistant/Institute Administrator
Ms Jamie Horsley Administrator (to November)
Ms Marion Jeffries Maintenance
Ms Claire Lampitt Receptionist/Secretary (to September)
Mr Martin Lucas-Smith Web Manager
Mrs Maria Pearman Senior Clerk
Mr Roy Smith Maintenance

Doctoral Students

  • Ms Narelle Baker
  • Ms Alison Banwell
  • Ms Christine Batchelor
  • Ms Amy Donovan
  • Mr William Eucker
  • Mr Peter Evans
  • Mr Jorge Guzman
  • Ms Tania Kossberg
  • Ms Terto Kreutzmann
  • Ms Evelyn Landerer
  • Mr Adrian McCallum
  • Ms Jackie Price
  • Ms Dinah Molloy Thompson
  • Mr Martin O’Leary
  • Mr Allen Pope
  • Mr Tim Reilly
  • Mr Cameron Rye
  • Ms Katya Shipigina
  • Mr Laur Vallikivi
  • Ms Claire Warrior

MPhil. Students

  • Mr Martin Debusmann
  • Mr Jan De Rydt
  • Ms Madaleine Geddes-Barton
  • Ms Lauren Grey
  • Mr James Macadam
  • Ms Alex Messarli
  • Mr Andrew Tedstone
  • Ms Natalie Thompson
  • Ms Alison Weisburger

Institute Associates

  • Dr John Ash
  • Dr Lawson Brigham
  • Dr Liz Cruwys
  • Dr Fiona Danks
  • Dr Bob Hawley
  • Mr Robert Headland
  • Dr Neil Kent
  • Dr Elena Khlinovskaya Rockhill
  • Dr Beau Riffenburgh
  • Dr Florian Stammler
  • Dr John Tichotsky
  • Dr Olga Tutubalina
  • Dr Emma Wilson

Emeritus Associates

  • Dr Peter Clarkson, MBE
  • Mr Michael Gorman
  • Mr Harry King
  • Dr Simon Ommanney
  • Professor Larry Rockhill
  • Dr Bernard Stonehouse
  • Dr Colin Summerhayes
  • Dr Charles Swithinbank
  • Dr Janet West
  • Professor Peter Williams

Other organisations based at SPRI

World Data Centre for Glaciology, Cambridge

Mr Rick Frolich Manager

International Glaciological Society

Dr Magnús Már Magnússon Secretary General

Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

Dr Michael Sparrow Executive Director
Dr Renuka Badhe Executive Officer
Dr Eoghan Griffin Project Officer (from October)
Mrs Rosemary Nash Senior Clerk