skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2011: National and International Roles of Staff

National and International Roles of Staff

Members of the Institute are active in many roles relating to national and international committees and advisory groups involving the polar regions, and are members of the editorial boards of a number of international journals. These include:

  • Head of the Glaciers and Ice Sheets Division of the IUGG International Association of Cryospheric Sciences (IACS); J.A. Dowdeswell
  • Member of the UK Antarctic Place-Names Committee; J.A. Dowdeswell
  • Member of the International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA) International Polar Year Taskforce; M. Bravo
  • UK representative on the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) Working Group on the Cryopshere; J.A. Dowdeswell
  • Member of the NERC National Capability Action Group (NCAG); J.A. Dowdeswell
  • Vice-President, Geological Society of London;C.P. Summerhayes
  • Treasurer, International Glaciological Society; I.C. Willis
  • UK Delegate to the International Science Initiative for the Russian Arctic; W.G. Rees
  • Member of the international steering group for the Tundra-Taiga Initiative; W.G. Rees
  • Chair of Scientific Committee, BOREAS Programme of Arctic Humanities and Social Science Research, European Science Foundation; P. Vitebsky
  • Chair of Scientific Committee, Forward Look on Religion and Belief Systems, European Science Foundation; P. Vitebsky
  • Permanent UK representative of the Association of Marine Mammal Hunters of Chukotka; P. Vitebsky
  • Trustee: Sutasoma Trust - P. Vitebsky; Fuchs Foundation – J.A. Dowdeswell
  • Chair, Polar Libraries Colloquy; H.E. Lane
  • Editorial Board members: Polar Record, Transactions of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, Archaeology, Ethnology and Anthropology of Eurasia, Anthropology and Archeology of Eurasia, Earth’s Cryosphere, Cultural Geographies, Worldviews: Environment, Culture, Religion.