skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2010: Institute Staff

Institute Staff

Senior Academic and Related Staff

  • Professor Julian Dowdeswell, Director and Professor of Physical Geography
  • Dr Neil Arnold, University Lecturer
  • Dr Paul Berkman, Senior Research Associate
  • Dr Michael Bravo, University Senior Lecturer
  • Dr Poul Christoffersen, University Lecturer
  • Mrs Heather Lane, Librarian and Keeper of Collections
  • Professor Elizabeth Morris, OBE, Senior Research Associate
  • Dr Gareth Rees, University Senior Lecturer
  • Dr Ian Stone, Editor, Polar Record
  • Dr Piers Vitebsky, Assistant Director of Research
  • Dr Ian Willis, University Senior Lecturer

Research Staff

  • Mr Toby Benham, Research Associate
  • Dr Marion Bougamont, Research Associate
  • Mrs Evelyn Dowdeswell, Research Associate
  • Dr Janne Flora, Research Associate
  • Dr Marga Garcia, Research Fellow
  • Dr Kelly Hogan, Research Associate
  • Dr Stephen Pax Leonard, Research Fellow
  • Dr Huw Lewis-Jones, Research Associate (to April)
  • Dr Shane McCorristine, Research Fellow (from October)
  • Dr Ruth Mugford, Research Associate
  • Dr Olga Ulturgasheva, Research Fellow

Library, Archive and Museum Staff

  • Ms Katherine Antoniw, Education and Outreach Officer
  • Ms Naomi Boneham, Archives Manager
  • Ms Fiona Cahill, Conservator
  • Mrs Georgina Cronin, Library Assistant (from November)
  • Ms Janette Dutton, Documentation Assistant (to December)
  • Mr Mark Gilbert, Library Assistant (to September)
  • Mr Bryan Lintott, Exhibitions Officer
  • Ms Lucy Martin, Picture Library Manager
  • Ms Shirley Sawtell, Information Assistant
  • Ms Hilary Shibata, Antarctic Bibliographer
  • Ms Willow Silvani, Documentation Assistant
  • Mr Robert Smith, Museum Project Manager
  • Ms Rebecca Stancombe, Library Assistant
  • Mrs Isabella Warren, Russian Bibliographer
  • Mr Jeremy Wong, Arctic Bibliographer

Support Staff

  • Ms Rosie Amos, Saturday Museum Assistant (from June)
  • Mrs Danielle Feger, Administrator
  • Mrs Kate Gilbert, Director’s Assistant/Institute Administrator
  • Ms Jamie Horsley, Administrator
  • Mr Nathan Huxley, Maintenance
  • Ms Marion Jeffries, Maintenance
  • Ms Claire Lampitt, Receptionist/Secretary
  • Mr Martin Lucas-Smith, Web Manager
  • Mr Matt Nelson, Computer Officer (to October)
  • Mrs Maria Pearman, Senior Clerk
  • Mr Roy Smith, Maintenance

Doctoral Students

  • Ms Christine Adcock
  • Ms Narelle Baker
  • Ms Alison Banwell
  • Mr Kelly Dolan
  • Ms Amy Donovan
  • Mr Peter Evans
  • Mr Jorge Guzman
  • Ms Tania Kossberg
  • Ms Evelyn Landerer
  • Mr Adrian McCallum
  • Ms Jackie Price
  • Mr Martin O’Leary
  • Mr Allen Pope
  • Mr Tim Reilly
  • Mr Cameron Rye
  • Ms Katya Shipigina
  • Mr Laur Vallikivi
  • Ms Claire Warrior

M.Phil. Students

  • Ms Catherine Baggs
  • Ms Christine Batchelor
  • Ms Terto Kreutzmann
  • Ms Robert Plews
  • Mr Sven-Roald Nysto
  • Ms Phoebe Robinson

M.Litt. Students

  • Mr William Eucker
  • Ms Dinah Molloy Thompson

Institute Associates

  • Dr John Ash
  • Dr Lawson Brigham
  • Dr Liz Cruwys
  • Dr Fiona Danks
  • Dr Bob Hawley
  • Mr Robert Headland
  • Mr Keith Hill (to September)
  • Dr Neil Kent
  • Dr Elena Khlinovskaya Rockhill
  • Dr Beau Riffenburgh
  • Dr Florian Stammler
  • Dr John Tichotsky
  • Dr Olga Tutubalina
  • Dr Emma Wilson

Emeritus Associates

  • Dr Peter Clarkson, MBE
  • Mr Michael Gorman
  • Mr Harry King
  • Dr Simon Ommanney
  • Professor Larry Rockhill
  • Dr Bernard Stonehouse
  • Dr Colin Summerhayes (from April)
  • Dr Charles Swithinbank
  • Dr Janet West
  • Professor Peter Williams

Other organisations based at SPRI

World Data Centre for Glaciology, Cambridge

  • Mr Rick Frolich, Manager

International Glaciological Society

  • Dr Magnús Már Magnússon, Secretary General
  • Mrs Linda Gorman, Assistant to the Secretary General (to November)

Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

  • Dr Colin Summerhayes, Executive Director (to March)
  • Dr Michael Sparrow, Executive Director (from April)
  • Dr Renuka Badhe, Executive Officer
  • Mrs Rosemary Nash, Senior Clerk