skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2010: Expedition Support: Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

Expedition Support: Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

The Fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, provides grants towards expeditions that meet its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions. The Committee of Managers of the Fund would like to thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for their generous contribution of £9,000. The members of the Committee who served during the year were Mr. D. Fordham (Chair), Dr. P. Adams, Dr. I. Campbell, Mr. R. Crabtree, Dr. L. Craig, Dr. K. Crosbie, Professor J.A. Dowdeswell, Dr. D. Goodman, Dr. M. Humphreys, Professor M. Lea, Mr. J. Muston, Professor R.C. Schroter and Dr. M. Tinsley.

The Committee made the following awards for 2010, from the Gino Watkins Fund and the Arctic Club:

Unclimbed Walls of Baffin Island £2,000
Tasiilaq Community Kayak Project 2010 £1,000
Inushuk Northwest Passage Sea Kayak Expedition 2010 £1,500
Expedition to Sermiligaarsuk Fjord, SW Greenland £1,000
BSES Arctic Adventure Expedition 2010 £1,000
NW Greenland Sea Kayak Climb £1,250
Greenland 2010 – Tilman International £1,500
Alpine Club Antarctic Expedition £1,500
First Winter Crossing of the Antarctic Continent 2012 £2,000
The Uummannaq Expedition 2010 £1,500