skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2009: Expedition Support: Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

Expedition Support: Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

The Fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, provides grants towards expeditions that meet its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions.

The Committee of Managers of the Fund would like to thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for their generous contribution of £9,000. The members of the Committee who served during the year were Mr. D. Fordham (Chair), Dr. P. Adams, Dr. I. Campbell, Mr. R. Crabtree, Dr. L. Craig, Dr. K. Crosbie, Professor J.A. Dowdeswell, Dr. D. Goodman, Dr. M. Humphreys, Professor M. Lea, Mr. J. Muston, Professor R.C. Schroter, and Dr. M. Tinsley.

The Committee made the following awards for 2009, from the Gino Watkins Fund and the Arctic Club:

Gino Watkins Memorial Fund
Ice Cap Station Arctic Challenge 2009 £500
The Glasgow Academy
East Greenland Expedition 2009
Arctic Mariner £1,500
North Pole 2010 Training Expedition £500
Greenland 2009 – 'Tilman' in the far North £1,500
Carbon Neutral Greenland Crossing 2009 £1,500
Imperial College
East Greenland Expedition 2009
Rowan Huntley, artist £500