skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2007: Institute Staff

Institute Staff

Senior Academic and Related Staff

  • Professor Julian Dowdeswell, Director and Professor of Physical Geography
  • Dr Neil Arnold, University Lecturer
  • Dr Michael Bravo, University Lecturer
  • Dr Poul Christoffersen, University Lecturer
  • Mrs Heather Lane, Librarian and Acting Keeper of Collections
  • Professor Elizabeth Morris, OBE, Senior Research Associate
  • Dr Gareth Rees, University Senior Lecturer
  • Dr Ian Stone, Editor, Polar Record
  • Dr Piers Vitebsky, Assistant Director of Research
  • Dr Ian Willis, University Senior Lecturer

Research Staff

  • Mr Toby Benham, Research Associate
  • Mr Frank Bowles, Research Assistant
  • Dr Marion Bougamont, Research Associate
  • Dr Jeff Evans, Research Associate (to April 2007)
  • Dr Huw Lewis-Jones, Research Associate
  • Dr Bob Hawley, Research Associate
  • Dr Riko Noormets, Research Associate
  • Dr Martina Tyrell, British Academy Research Fellow

Library and Archive Staff

  • Ms Naomi Boneham, Archives Manager
  • Mr Mark Gilbert, Library Assistant
  • Ms Lucy Martin, Picture Library Manager
  • Ms Jenny Newbury, Digital Information Assistant
  • Ms Shirley Sawtell, Information Assistant
  • Ms Rebecca Stancombe, Library Assistant
  • Ms Hilary Shibata, Antarctic Bibliographer
  • Mrs Isabella Warren, Russian Bibliographer
  • Mr Jeremy Wong, Arctic Bibliographer

Support Staff

  • Ms Claire Lampitt, Receptionist/Secretary
  • Mr Stanley, Chapman Maintenance
  • Mrs Liz Crilley, Director's Assistant
  • Mr Shane Harvey, Computer Officer
  • Mrs Judy Heath, Chief Accounts Clerk
  • Ms Jamie Horsley, Administrator
  • Ms Marion Jeffries, Maintenance
  • Mr Martin Lucas-Smith, Web Manager
  • Dr Alison Maguire, Administrator
  • Mr Brian Smith, Maintenance
  • Ms Rosalyn Wade, Schools Liaison Office & Museum Shop Manager

Doctoral Students

  • Mr John Ash
  • Ms Narelle Baker
  • Ms Liz Beiswenger
  • Ms Fiona Danks
  • Mr Peter Evans
  • Ms Janne Flora
  • Mr Jorge Guzman Gutierrez
  • Ms Kelly Hogan
  • Mr Adrian McCallum
  • Ms Dinah Molloy Thompson
  • Ms Ruth Mugford
  • Mr Steven Palmer
  • Mr Hugo Reinert
  • Mr Cameron Rye
  • Ms Christina Sawchuk
  • Ms Olga Ulturgasheva
  • Mr Laur Vallikivi
  • Mr Kostas Zorbas

Institute Associates

  • Dr Lawson Brigham
  • Dr Hugh Brody
  • Dr Liz Cruwys
  • Mr Robert Headland
  • Mr Keith Hill
  • Dr Neil Kent
  • Dr Beau Riffenburgh
  • Dr Clive Smallman
  • Dr Florian Stammler
  • Dr John Tichotsky
  • Dr Olga Tutubalina
  • Dr Emma Wilson

M.Phil. Students

  • Ms Tiffany Lunday
  • Mr Martin O'Leary
  • Mr Chistopher Rimmer

Emeritus Associates

  • Dr Peter Clarkson
  • Mr Michael Gorman
  • Mr Harry King
  • Dr Simon Ommanney
  • Mr Peter Speak
  • Dr Bernard Stonehouse
  • Dr Charles Swithinbank
  • Dr Janet West
  • Professor Peter Williams

Other organisations based at SPRI

World Data Centre for Glaciology, Cambridge

  • Mr Rick Frolich, Manager

International Glaciological Society

  • Dr Magnús Már Magnússon, Secretary General
  • Mrs Linda Gorman, Assistant to the Secretary General

Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

  • Dr Colin Summerhaye,s Executive Director
  • Dr Marzena Kaczmarska, Executive Officer (to April 2007)
  • Dr. Michael Sparrow, Executive Officer (from July 2007)
  • Mrs Karen Smith, Senior Clerk (to September 2007)
  • Mrs Rosemary Nash, Senior Clerk (from October 2007)