skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2007: Expedition Support: Gino Watkins

Expedition Support: Gino Watkins

The Gino Watkins Memorial Fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, provides grants towards expeditions that meet its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions.

The Committee of Managers of the Fund would like to thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for their generous contribution of £8,500. The members of the Committee who served during the year were Mr. D. Fordham (Chair), Dr. P. Adams, Dr. I. Campbell, Mr. R. Crabtree, Dr. L. Craig, Professor J.A. Dowdeswell, Dr. P.F. Friend, Professor M. Lea, Mr. J. Lowther, Mr. J. Muston, Professor R.C. Schroter, and Dr. M. Tinsley.

The Committee made the following awards for 2007, from the Gino Watkins Fund and the Arctic Club:

Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

Arctic Voice Expedition £1,000
West Lancashire Scouts East Greenland Expedition 2007 – Renland £2,500
Exercise Boreal Zenith £1,000
Paddle to the Peaks Greenland Expedition 2007 £1,500
East Greenland 2007 * (Includes £750 Arctic Club Award) £1,750
2007 Dronning Louise Land £1,000
Scottish Mountaineering Club East Greenland expedition 2007 £1,000
Disko Island 2007 £1,500