skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2006: Expedition Support: Gino Watkins and Edward Wilson Funds

Expedition Support: Gino Watkins and Edward Wilson Funds

The Gino Watkins Memorial Fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, provides grants towards expeditions that meet its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions.

The Committee of Managers of the Fund would like to thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for their generous contribution of £8,500. The members of the Committee who served during the year were Mr D Fordham (Chairman), Dr P Adams, Dr I Campbell, Mr R Crabtree, Dr L Craig, Professor J A Dowdeswell, Dr P F Friend, Dr J A Heap (deceased), Professor M Lea, Mr J Lowther, Mr J Muston, Professor R C Schroter, and Dr M Tinsley.

The Committee made the following awards for 2006:

Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

Queen Elizabeth II High School Expedition to South Greenland 2006 £1,000
The Glasgow Academy Greenland Expedition 2006 (A & J Simpson Award) £1,000
Arctic Foxes Greenland Quest 2006 £500
Royal Navy Expedition Arctic Mountaineer £500
Trans-Greenland 2006 £1,000
Svalbard Spring 2006 £1,000
Oxford University Greenland Expedition 2006
(*Arctic Club Award)
£1,500 + £500*
Cambridge East Greenland Expedition 2006 £1,500
Spencer Finmark Chapman Expedition 2007 £500

Edward Wilson Fund

Alaska Environmental Change Undergraduate £500
Research Expedition 2006