skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2005: Expedition Support: Gino Watkins and Edward Wilson Funds

Expedition Support: Gino Watkins and Edward Wilson Funds

The Gino Watkins Memorial Fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, gives grants towards expeditions that meet its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions. The Edward Wilson Fund also supports these aims, emphasizing investigations of fauna and flora, especially polar avifauna.

The Committee of Managers of the Fund would like to thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for their generous contribution of £8,500. The members of the Committee who served during the year were: Mr D Fordham, (Chairman), Dr P Adams, Dr I Campbell, Mr R Crabtree, Dr L Craig, Professor J A Dowdeswell, Dr P F Friend, Dr J A Heap, Professor M Lea, Mr J Lowther, Mr J Muston, Professor R C Schroter, Dr M Tinsley. The Committee made the following awards for 2005:

Gino Watkins Fund

(*including £300 from the Arctic Club)

Polecats Polar Challenge 2005 £1,000
South Georgia 2005 £1,000
Greenland Icecap Crossing 2005 £1,000
Greenland by the Polar Sea 2005 £500
KMC v Tornarssuk Expedition £500
Greenland East Coast Kayak Expedition £1,800*
South Pole Expedition 2005 £1,500
Cambridge University Mountaineering £1,500
Club Centenary Expedition - Kangerlussuaq  
University of Sheffield Svalbard Research Expedition 2005 £500
Arctic Blue £800
John Rymill Memorial Antarctic Kayak Expedition (A & J Simpson Award) £1,500

Edward Wilson Fund

Project Rangifer: a study into the impact of the Kárahnjúkar Hydroelectric Project on Reindeerr £1,000