skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2004: Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR)

Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR)

The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) of the International Council for Science (ICSU) is housed within the Institute. Dr P D Clarkson and Mrs A J Dalton continued as Executive Secretary and Senior Clerk, respectively. In April 2004 Dr C P Summerhayes took up his appointment as the new Executive Director of SCAR. SCAR continues to initiate, promote, and coordinate scientific research in the Antarctic and to provide scientific advice to the Antarctic Treaty System. Four issues of SCAR Bulletin (nos 151-154) were published within Polar Record and as separates during the year, with the assistance of Polar Publications.

SCAR has been actively engaged in developing plans for the proposed International Polar Year (IPY) 2007-2008, with the Executive Director designate attending the IPY Open Forum in Paris. SCAR also signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) that made SCAR a co-sponsor of the WCRP's Climate and Cryosphere Programme (CliC), the Southern Ocean Implementation panel, and the International Programme for Antarctic Buoys. During July 2004, the first SCAR Open Science Conference was held in Bremen, Germany. It was very successful, with over 1000 people attending. The Executive Director and the Executive Secretary attended the conference and the associated meetings of the SCAR Standing Scientific Groups. The scientific community refined its plans for the future, and the SCAR Executive refined its new Strategic Plan.

Colin Summerhayes (Executive Director)