skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2004: Expedition Support: Gino Watkins and Edward Wilson Funds

Expedition Support: Gino Watkins and Edward Wilson Funds

Canadian Inuit soapstone carvings from the Institute's Gimpel Collection
Image ©
Image as described adjacent

The Gino Watkins Memorial Fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, gives grants towards expeditions that meet its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions. The Edward Wilson Fund also supports these aims, emphasizing investigations of fauna and flora, especially polar avifauna. No award was made from the Wilson Fund this year.

The Committee of Managers of the Fund would like to thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for their generous contribution of £7000. The members of the Committee who served during the year were: Mr D Fordham, (Chairman), Dr I Campbell, Mr R Crabtree, Dr L Craig, Professor J A Dowdeswell, Dr P F Friend, Dr J A Heap, Professor M Lea, Mr J Lowther, Mr J Muston, Professor R C Schroter, Dr B Stonehouse and Mr N Winser. The Committee made the following awards for 2004:

Gino Watkins Fund

(*including £200 from the Arctic Club)

Greenland Challenge (inc. £200 Ann & Jim Simpson Award) £1400
West Lancashire Scouts East Greenland Expedition £1600
Greenland Kayak Expedition - Return of the Kayak 2004 £800
Imperial College Trans-Greenland Expedition* £1400
Greenland White Sea Expedition £800
Iceland Expedition £700
The British 2004 Torssukatak Fjord Expedition £900
Going For Cold: Greenland 2004 £900
2005 British Antarctic Expedition £1200