skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2003: Expedition Support: Gino Watkins and Edward Wilson Funds

Expedition Support: Gino Watkins and Edward Wilson Funds

The Gino Watkins Memorial Fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, gives grants for expeditions that meet its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising young people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions. The Edward Wilson Fund also supports these aims, emphasising investigations of fauna and flora, especially polar avifauna.

The Committee of Managers of the Gino Watkins Fund thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for the generous contribution of £7000. The members of the Committee who served during the year were: Mr D. Fordham (Chairman), Dr I. Campbell, Mr R. Crabtree, Dr L. Craig, Professor J.A. Dowdeswell, Dr P.F. Friend, Dr J. Heap, Professor M. Lea, Mr J. Lowther, Mr J. Muston, Professor R.C. Schroter, Dr B. Stonehouse, and Mr N. Winser.

The Committee made the following awards for 2003:

Gino Watkins Fund (*including £100 from the Arctic Club)

Baffin Island Expedition* £700
British South Kangerdluggsuaq Expedition £1200
BSES Footsteps of Shackleton 2003-04 £1000
Greenland Expedition £300
Midnight Sun Expedition £300
Prins Christian Sund Expedition £1000
Royal Air Force Greenland Expedition £600
Scottish Lemon Mountains Expedition £500

Edward Wilson Fund

Ozone Depletion Impacts on High Arctic Tundra £300