skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2002: Expedition Support: Gino Watkins and Edward Wilson Funds

Expedition Support: Gino Watkins and Edward Wilson Funds

The Gino Watkins Memorial Fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, gives grants towards expeditions that meets its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising young people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions. The Edward Wilson Fund also supports these aims, and emphasizing investigations of high-latitude fauna and flora.

The Committee of Managers of the Fund thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for their generous contribution of £7000. The members of the Committee who served during the year were: Mr D. Fordham, (Chairman), Dr I. Campbell, Mr R. Crabtree, Dr L. Craig, Professor J. Dowdeswell, Dr P.F. Friend, Dr J. Heap, Professor M. Lea, Mr J. Lowther, Mr J. Muston, Professor R.C. Schroter, Dr B. Stonehouse and Mr N. Winser.

The Committee made the following awards for 2002:

Gino Watkins Fund (*including £100 from the Arctic Club)

Watkins Mountains to Kuummiut, East Greenland £1200
Greenland East Coast Kayak Expedition £750
Lemon Mountains Expedition £750
University of Glasgow, Tungnafellsjökull Expedition £1200
University of Sheffield Svalbard Expedition £750
Cambridge Greenland Glaciology Expedition* £1300

Edward Wilson Fund

Hornsund Little Auk Expedition £500