skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 2000: SPRI Review 2000

SPRI Review 2000

Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

The Gino Watkins Memorial Fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, gives grants towards expeditions that meet its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising young people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions.

The Committee of Managers of the Fund would like to thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for a generous contribution of £7000. The members of the Committee who served during the year were Mr D. Fordham, (Chairman), Dr I. Campbell, Mr R. Crabtree, Dr L. Craig, Dr P.F. Friend, Dr J. Heap, Mr J. Lowther, Mr J. Muston, Professor K.S. Richards, Professor R.C. Schroter, Dr B. Stonehouse, and Mr N. Winser. The Committee met on the 25 March 2000, and made the following awards:

Greenland 2000 - Tilman in a New Millennium: $800
To sail from Scotland to the west coast of Greenland, and to climb some unclimbed rock walls.
Greenland 2000 - Watkins Mountains International Female Expedition: £1200
To make ascents of peaks from the Upper Woolley Glacier, to explore an unnamed glacier with attempt at ascents of surrounding peaks, and to make the first all-female ascent of Gunnbjorns Fjeld.
British Lemon Mountains Expedition 2000: £1600
To climb remote and unclimbed mountains; to take three people on their first expedition, and to give a series of slide shows on return to youth groups.
Greenland Challenge 2000: £1000
A crossing of the Greenland Icecap from Ammassalik to Kangerdlussuaq.
Endless Summer 2000: £1600
Environmentally motivated, self-reliant, mountain and marine circumpolar exploration of untrodden peaks, glaciers, and waters of the Southern Ocean.
British/American South Greenland 2000: £800
To make a first ascent of Agdlerussakasit east wall and a general exploration of, and first ascents of, mountains bounded by Kangikitsoq Fjord and Kangersuneq Oingordleq Fjord.
British Spitzbergen Crossing 2001: £1600
First traverse of Spitsbergen by a British team from Verlegenhuken in the north to Øyrlandet in the south.
The Edward Wilson Award was given to:
Polar North American Lichens 1: £800
To collect species of the lichen-forming genus Porpidia and related allies to clarify the phylogenetic relationship, which should contribute to the knowledge of northern lichen flora.