skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 1999: Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

The Gino Watkins Memorial Fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, gives grants towards expeditions that meet its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising young people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions.

The Committee of the Fund would like to thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for a contribution of £7000. The members of the Committee who served during the year were Professor R.C. Schroter (Chairman), Dr I. Campbell, Mr R. Crabtree, Dr L. Craig, Mr D. Fordham, Dr P. Friend, Dr J Heap, Mr J. Lowther, Mr A. Stephenson, Dr B. Stonehouse, and Mr N. Winser. It was with deep regret that the Committee learnt of the death of Alfred Stephenson, who died on 4 July 1999. His presence at the yearly meetings will be greatly missed. Professor Bob Schroter stood down as Chairman at the last meeting and it was agreed that Mr Derek Fordham would succeed him. Appreciation of Professor Schroter's excellent chairmanship was expressed by members of the Committee. The Director of SPRI, Professor K.S. Richards has been invited to join the Committee.

During the year the Fund made awards to the following expeditions:

Arctic Alaska '99: £500
Unfortunately this expedition was unable to go ahead and the money was returned.
Compass Support Group Rignys Bjerg Mountaineering Expedition 1999: £1500
A mountaineering expedition to an unexplored area of East Greenland with large, 2000 m basal mountains guarding the icecap and providing opportunities for skiing, exploration of, and some summit attempts.
Taylor Valley Research Expedition 1999: £500
An expedition to the Taylor Valley to collect data-sets to verify a flow law that accurately describes the rheology of cold, debris-laden basel ice for the first time.
British Lemon Mountains Expedition 1999: £1500
A four-week expedition to a remote mountainous area of East Greenland to attempt first ascents of eight mountains and to explore the area by skis.
80 North Expedition: £1000
An expedition by sea kayak following the same route as Sir Martin Conway, William Parry, and Croft and Glen. After visiting historic sites on the north coast of Svalbard the kayakers paddled south to Longyearbyen.
Cambridge Northeast Greenland Expedition 1999: £1500
A Cambridge University expedition to Louise Boyd Land combining exploration with botanical and geological studies.
1999 British Schweizerland Expedition: £1000
An expedition to the head of the 16th September Glacier in Schweizerland, East Greenland. The expedition climbed 10 routes between 4-1100 m in length, eight of which were first ascents on the south faces of Tupilak, Rodebjerg, P2070, and other summits in the region.
British Schools Exploring Society Millennium Expedition to Antarctica (Edward Wilson Fund Award): £1000
An expedition to the Falkland Islands to carry out scientific and environmental fieldwork. The team will also explore and climb in the Cordillera Darwin.
Scottish South Greenland Expedition 1999: £1000
A helicopter was chartered to the western icecap (Ostgletscher) then a journey by skis was undertaken to the east coast of Greenland, ascending unclimbed peaks on the southeast coast. Return by skis to the west coast, ascending peaks en route, then on to Narsarsuaq by helicopter.