skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 1998: Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

The Gino Watkins Memorial fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, gives grants towards expeditions that meets its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising young people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions. We thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for a contribution of £7000.00 this year. We also thank the members of the Committee who served during the year: Professor R.C. Schroter (Chairman), Dr I. Campbell, Mr R. Crabtree, Col N.A.C. Croft (sadly deceased in July 1998 after many years of service to the Committee), Dr Nigel Winser, Mr D. Fordham, Dr P. Friend, Dr J. Heap, Mr J. Lowther, Mr A. Stephenson, Dr B. Stonehouse, and Cmdr C.J.W. Simpson (who resigned due to health reasons). Cmdr Simpson and his wife Ann are both thanked for their unstinting support for many years. He has been replaced by Miss Lorraine Craig of the Royal Geographical Society.

Grants this year were made as follows:

  • Baffin Island Ski Mountaineering Expedition: £750
  • British Kangerllugssuaq Expedition: £1000
  • Svalbard Glaciological Expedition: £500
  • Primary Angle Closure Glaucoma Amongst Eskimo Population: £500 (from the Edward Wilson Fund)
  • Greenland 1998 - in the Steps of Tilman: £750
  • British Icelandic North Magnetic Pole Expedition: £1000
  • Project Kamchatka 1998: £500 (from the Edward Wilson Fund)
  • The Scottish Mountaineering Club Greenland Expedition: £750
  • In the Footsteps of Parry: £1000
  • 1998 Durham University Svalbard Project: £1000
  • Rignys Bjerg Mountains 1998: £750