skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 1996: Members of the department

Members of the department

Academic and research staff

Dr John Heap, Director
Dr Peter Wadhams, Reader in Polar Studies
Dr Gareth Rees, Assistant Director of Research
Dr Piers Vitebsky, Assistant Director of Research
Mr William Mills, Librarian and Information Officer
Dr Beau Riffenburgh, Editor, Polar Record
Mr Robert Headland, Archivist and Museum Curator
Dr Pamela Davis, Fundraising and Business Development
Mrs Eileen Aldworth, Research Associate
Dr Norman Davis, Research Associate
Mr Michael Gorman, Research Associate
Dr Richard Hodgkins, Research Associate
Mr Stephen Wells, Research Assistant
Mr Jeremy Wilkinson, Research Assistant
Mr Meredith Williams, Research Assistant
Dr Terence Armstrong, Senior Associate
Dr Liz Cruwys, Senior Associate
Mr Harry King, Senior Associate
Dr Gordon Robin, Senior Associate
Dr Bernard Stonehouse, Senior Associate
Dr Charles Swithinbank, Senior Associate
Mr Peter Speak, Senior Associate
Professor Ian Whitaker, Senior Associate
Dr Neil Kent, Associate
Dr Janet West, Associate

Library Bibliographers

Mr Jonathan Pinhey, Scandinavian Bibliographer
Ms Hilary Shibata, Antarctic Bibliographer
Ms Isabella Warren, Russian Bibliographer

World Data Centre C (Glaciology)

Mr Oliver Merrington, Manager

Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

Dr Peter Clarkson, Executive Secretary
Mrs Pat Richmond, Secretary

International Glaciological Society

Dr Simon Ommanney, Secretary General
Mrs Linda Gorman, Secretary

M Phil Students

Capt Lawson Brigham
Mr Paul Mitcham
Mr R. Dan Small
Ms Anne Vick
Mr Marcus West
Capt Joseph H. Wubbold III

Research Students

Mr Yevgeny Aksenov
Mr Andrew Bingham
Ms Maria Pia Casarini-Wadhams
Ms Mary Core
Mr Finlo Cottier
Ms Kim Crosbie
Mr Jeff Evans
Mr Daniel Feltham
Mr Paul Fryer
Ms Ingibjorg Jonsdottir
Mr Joseph Lam
Mr Douglas Low
Mr Gareth Marshall
Ms Amanda Nimon
Mr Mathias Reisemann
Mr Ben Seligman
Mr Mark Tadross
Mr John Tichotsky

Administrative and other Assistants

Ms Teresa Clarke, Director's Assistant
Mrs Margaret Aitchison, Secretary (Sea Ice and Polar Oceanography Group)
Miss Sharon Banks, Junior Library Assistant
Miss Frances Boud, Secretarial Assistant (Sea Ice)
Mrs Irene Burns, Accounts Secretary
Ms Marion Curran, Secretary (Social Sciences and Russian Studies Group)
Mrs Jennifer Dale, Secretary
Ms Philippa Hogg, Library/Archives Assistant
Mrs Paula Sands, Receptionist
Miss Shirley Sawtell, Information Assistant

Placement Students

Mr Peter Dobinson, Coventry University
Mr Steve Down, University of Wales, Cardiff
Mr John Nichol, Coventry University