skip to primary navigation skip to content

SPRI Review 1996: Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

Gino Watkins Memorial Fund

The fund, under the joint trusteeship of the University of Cambridge and the Royal Geographical Society, gives grants towards expeditons that meets its objectives of guiding and inspiring enterprising young people towards scientific research and exploration in the polar regions. We thank the Augustine Courtauld Trust for a contribution of £7000.00 this year. We also thank the members of the Committee who served during the year: Prof R.C. Schroter (Chairman), Dr I. Campbell, Mr R. Crabtree, Col N.A.C. Croft, Mr D. Fordham, Dr P. Friend, Dr J. Heap, Mr J. Lowther, Cdr C.J.W. Simpson, Mr A. Stephenson, Dr B. Stonehouse, and Mr N. Winser.

  • Grants were made as follows:
  • Schweitzerland 96, Oxford University - £1200
  • Spitsbergen 96, Glasgow University - £400
  • Baffin Island, Edinburgh University - £1200
  • Iceland 96, Keele University - £250
  • Greenland, Nanortalik, Bedford University - £800
  • Scottish South Greenland Expedition - £600
  • Svalbard 96, Arctic Research Group - £500
  • Integrated Trans/Greenland Expedition - £800
  • Across Spitsbergen Expedition - £1000
  • Svalbard 96, Cambridge University - £600 (Edward Wilson Fund)
  • Ellesmere Island, Oxford University - £1000