skip to primary navigation skip to content

Antarctic Club

Antarctic Club

The Antarctic Club is a dining club based in the UK. Membership, by invitation, is open to individuals who have spent at least one winter or two summer field seasons in Antarctic regions or are otherwise considered eligible, and who maintain a continuing interest or involvement in Antarctic affairs. It is limited to British and Commonwealth nationals taking part in British or foreign expeditions or foreign nationals taking part in British expeditions.

The first annual dinner and reunion was held the Café Royal on Regent St, London, on 17th January 1929, to coincide with the anniversary of Captain Scott's party reaching the South Pole, in 1912. Thirty four prospective members attended, representing 11 expeditions from Carsten Borchgrevink's Southern Cross Expedition (1898-1900) to the British Imperial Expedition to Grahamland (1920-22). Today, the dinner provides an opportunity to meet more recent Antarctic expeditioners and to salute them with a series of toasts.

There are approximately 300 members of the Antarctic Club.


A brief history of the Antarctic Club is available.


  • President: Mr Jonathan Walton
  • Honorary Secretary: Mrs Rachel Morgan

Annual Reunion Dinner

The next dinner will be in Spring 2024, anticipated to be in the Union Jack Club, Waterloo.

Antarctic Club dinner 2015
Antarctic Club dinner 2015